La Nive de Baïgorry, le pont romain et le chateau d'Etchauz
 

 

Fishing territory

 
line decor
  
line decor
 
 
 
 

 
RIVERS NIVES SYSTEM IN BASSE NAVARRE (part of French Basque country)

The basin of Nives rivers, exceptional inheritance of the Basque Country 

Constituted by almost 200 kilometer of banks classified as trout and salmon rivers, and with courses of a large variety, Basques Nives will fill the fishermen whatever their level or their physical capacities. The softness of the climate and regular pluviometry make it possible to practice trout or salmon fishing from March to September without much risk of melting snow or severe drought. 

Big  Nive, powerful "big Nive" is formed by the addition of water of the "Laurhibar", and  Nive of "Béhérobie" and of those "of Arnéguy", meeting downstream from "St Jean Pied of Port" to the place known as "three water". Low, upstream with the village of "Saint Martin d' Arrossa" it is still reinforced by water of the "Nive de Baïgorry", then those of Bastan at the village of Bidarray. Its course is rather fast, until the outlet of the "Pas de Roland " near the village of "Itxassou", then it settle down to Bayonne where it meets Adour.
The fish are there can be fewer, but reach consequent average sizes, without speaking about sea trout and the salmons which can be captured there. 

Nive of Aldudes and Baïgorry,  Splendid mid limestone river, running within a wild framework of a great beauty. The limit upstream is being the Spannish border upstream of the small village of Urrepel, that of the downstream finishes at the entry of Saint Étienne de Baïgorry where it takes the name of Nive de Baïgorry. 
The access to its banks is rather easy most of the time, but can appear difficult in the boxed sectors where the progression will be conditioned by the water level, and often exuberant vegetation. Constituting the continuity of the "Nive of Aldudes", the "Nive of Baïgorry" ends downstream by confusing its water with those of "big Nive" of the village of "Ossès". The courses offered here are more accessible bus more urban, and the widened river. Fishing in the village of "Saint Étienne de Baïgorry" has a particular charm, with in overhang of the river the castle of Etchauz, or the Roman bridge.

Nive of Béhérobie, It is with the place says "source of Nive" that the torrent leaves literally among large blocks rocks, until approximately 2 km downstream “Nive of Béhérobie” runs there in its most wild sector. Then joining the road near "the Inn of the sources of Nive" its course is easily accessible since the small road which skirts it to the village of " Saint Michel ". River is full of fish, and the activity of trout is particularly regular there. The spectacular course of the gorges of Sousignaté, is to be privileged if you are a sportsman and amateur of peace.

Nive of Arnéguy, Taking its source in Spain towards the pass of "Roncevaux", it starts to offer a French bank a few kilometers upstream Spanish village of "Valcarlos" at the hamlet of "Gaïnecoleta". It acts there, until "Arnéguy" of a very sporting and wild stretch. It joins large Nive at the place called "three water" downstream from "St Jean Pied de Port". According to the scientific fishing practiced here, it would be the more full of fish Nive.

Laurhibar river, descending from heights of Iraty, in very wooded gorges, the creek settle down while emerging upstream of the village of "Mendive". This superb mid limestone river probably offers largest trout of the basin with Nive de Baïgorry. Its course less tumultuous than other Nives, on the other hand offers deep holes in rather great number.
Bastan, splendid torrent running within an imposing wild framework, it descends of a valley steep sided in Spain and joins big Nive in "Bidarray". It running on a rock pink sandstone bottom.  Very well populated with trout, it has the reputation to be difficult to fish. 

Rio Iraty (Irati in Spain), very wild river in its French part, in addition to being populated of a trout population of Mediterranean stock (striped with dark bands), it also acts of the river which Ernest Hemingway in the years 1920 attended (see its book "the sun also rises" chapter 11, 12 and 13).


 
If you consider a stay in the Basque Country, with your family or alone, I can undertake to help you to find a lodging adapted and sports or cultural activities to satisfy everybody. Feel free to contact me for a advice.
 
 The big Nive river
 

The big Nive river downstream of St jean Pied de Port

the Nive des Aldudes

 

The splendid Nive des Aldudes

 

 

a very nice pool of  Nive des Aldudes

A very nice pool of Nive des Aldudes

Le territoire de pêche

 
line decor
  
line decor

 
 

 
memento peche64
LE BASSIN DES NIVES EN BASSE NAVARRE

Le bassin des Nives, patrimoine exceptionnel du Pays Basque

Constitué par presque 200 kms de berges classées à salmonidés, et avec des parcours d'une grande variété, les Nives Basques combleront les pêcheurs quel que soit leur niveau ou leurs capacités physiques. La douceur du climat et la pluviométrie régulière permettent de pratiquer la pêche à la truite ou du saumon de mars à septembre sans grand risque de fonte des neiges ou de sècheresse sévère.

La grande Nive, La puissante "Grande Nive" est formée par l'addition des eaux du "Laurhibar", de la Nive de "Béhérobie" et de celles "d'Arnéguy", se rejoignant en aval de "St Jean Pied de Port" au lieu dit "les trois eaux". Plus bas, en amont du village de " Saint Martin d'Arrossa " elle est encore renforcée par les eaux de la "Nive de Baïgorry", puis celles du Bastan au niveau de Bidarray. Son cours est assez rapide, jusqu'au débouché du "Pas de Roland" à proximité du village de "Itxassou", ensuite elle s'assagie jusqu'à Bayonne où elle rencontre l'Adour.
Les poissons y sont peut être moins nombreux, mais atteignent des tailles moyennes conséquentes, sans parler des truites de mer et des saumons qui peuvent y être capturés.

La Nive des Aldudes et de Baïgorry, Magnifique rivière semi calcaire, coulant dans un cadre sauvage d'une grande beauté. La limite amont se trouve être la frontière avec l'Espagne en amont du petit village d'Urrepel, celle de l'aval se termine à l'entrée de Saint Étienne de Baïgorry où elle prend le nom de Nive de Baïgorry.
L'accès à ses rives est assez aisé la plupart du temps, mais peut se révéler ardu dans les secteurs encaissés où la progression sera conditionnée par le niveau d'eau, et la végétation souvent exubérante. Constituant la continuité de la "Nive des Aldudes", la "Nive de Baïgorry" prend fin en confondant ses eaux à celles de la "Grande Nive" en amont du village "d'Ossès". Les parcours offerts sont plus accessibles car plus urbains, et la rivière s'élargie. La pêche dans le village de "Saint Étienne de Baïgorry" a un charme particulier, avec en surplomb de la rivière le château d'Etchauz, ou le pont romain.

La Nive de Béhérobie, C'est au lieu dit "source de la Nive" que le torrent sort littéralement d'entre des gros blocs de rochers, jusqu'environ 2 Km plus en aval la Nive de Béhérobie coule là dans son secteur le plus sauvage. Ensuite rejoignant la route à proximité de "l'Auberge des sources de la Nive" son cours est facilement accessible depuis la petite route qui la longe jusqu'au village de "Saint Michel". La rivière est très poissonneuse, et l'activité des truites y est particulièrement régulière. Le spectaculaire parcours des gorges de Sousignaté, est à privilégier si vous êtes sportif et amateur de tranquillité.

La Nive d'Arnéguy, Prenant sa source en Espagne vers le col de "Roncevaux", elle commence à offrir une rive française quelques kilomètres en amont du village espagnol de "Valcarlos" au niveau du hameau de "Gaïnecoleta". Il s'agit là, jusqu'à "Arnéguy" d'un secteur très sportif et sauvage. Elle conflue avec la grande Nive au lieu dit "les trois eaux" en aval de "St Jean Pied de Port". D'après les pêches électriques pratiquées par le CSP, elle serait de la Nive la plus Poissonneuse, et Il n'est pas rare de pouvoir y observer quelques saumons en automne.

Le Laurhibar, dévalant des hauteurs d'Iraty, dans des gorges très boisées, le torrent s'assagit en débouchant en amont du village de "Mendive". Ce superbe cours d'eau semi calcaire offre probablement les plus grosses truites du bassin avec la Nive de Baïgorry. Son cours moins tumultueux que les autres Nives, offre par contre des trous profonds en assez grand nombre.

Le Bastan, splendide torrent coulant dans un grandiose cadre sauvage, il dévale d'une vallée encaissée en Espagne et conflue avec la grande Nive à "Bidarray". Il présente la particularité de couler sur un fond rocheux de grès rose.
Très bien peuplé en salmonidés, il a la réputation d'être difficile à pêcher.

Le rio Iraty (Irati en Espagne), rivière très sauvage dans sa partie française, en plus d'être peuplée d'une population de truites de souche méditeranéenne (rayées de bandes sombres), il s'agit également de la rivière que fréquenta Ernest Hemingway dans les années 1920 (voir son livre "Le soleil se lève aussi" chapitre 11).

 

 
La Nive d'Arnéguy dans les gorges

Les gorges sauvages de la Nive d'Arnéguy

 

 

La grande Nive

La grande Nive en aval de St jean Pied de Port

La Nive des Aldudes

 

La splendide Nive des Aldudes

 

 

Un magnifique plat de la Nive des Aldudes

un grand plat de la Nive des Aldudes

 

 

 


La règlementation et infos pratiques sur le bassin des Nives et le pays Basque en général.

 

   

  Réserver sur le site du comité départemental du tourisme 

 Réservez votre sortie de pêche en 3 clics.